Change of Domicile/Legal Residence
100 Mile Law
Parents awarded joint legal custody of a minor child who resided less than 100 miles from each other at the time the order was entered, shall not change the legal residence of the child more than 100 miles from the other parent unless the other party gives written consent or permission has been granted by the court. (Each parent’s residence is considered a legal residence of the child for purposes of this provision.) If the other parent does not agree, a motion to change legal residence must be filed. A filing fee of $100 must be paid to the County Clerk at the time of filing a motion for change of legal residence. Please fill out the attached Motion to Change of Domicile & Legal Residence to motion the court.
Change of Domicile
The domicile (permanent residence) of a minor child may not be moved from the State of Michigan without the consent of the other parent or permission of the court. This provision refers to the domicile of the parent awarded physical custody or each parent if awarded joint physical custody. If parents do not consent to a change of domicile, a motion to change domicile must be filed. A filing fee of $100 must be paid to the County Clerk at the time of filing a change of domicile motion. If a change of domicile is granted, the domicile may not be moved from that state other than back to Michigan unless another change of domicile is granted. A parenting time schedule will be reflected in the order if a change of domicile is granted. Please fill out the attached Motion to Change of Domicile & Legal Residence to motion the court.